Tribal Council

The governing body of the Mechoopda Indian Tribe is the Tribal Council. The Tribal Council is comprised of seven (7) members elected by the General Membership. There are four officers: Chairperson, Vice- Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer, and three Members-At-Large.

On February 1, 1998, the qualified voting members of the Mechoopda approved and adopted the Constitution of the Mechoopda Indian Tribe of Chico Rancheria, California. The Constitution serves as the foundation for implementing the Tribe’s status as a federally recognized Indian Tribe and promotes the common welfare of Tribal Members and the Tribe as a political entity. Additionally, it works to secure the rights, powers and privileges of Tribal Sovereignty to the Tribal Members and their descendants.

Chairman Dennis Ramirez

Elected December 2007, Chairman Ramirez holds a strong commitment to providing education, housing, and healthcare for the members of the Mechoopda Tribe. Chairman Ramirez has worked tirelessly to build a strong ethical foundation, adhere to sound tribal laws and policies, and believes that accountability is instrumental in achieving tribal self-sufficiency. He has served for several years on the Board of Directors of the Northern Valley Indian Health Consortium, one of the largest health organizations committed to serving the underserved populations of Northern California. Chairman Ramirez works for the Glenn County Public Works Department and has held positions with the United States Army Corps of Engineers and the United States Forest Service.

TERM 12/5/2020 - 12/3/2022

Vice Chairperson Sandra Knight

Having served on the Tribal Council for the past 19 years, Vice Chairperson Knight has the capacity to lead by providing strong leadership critical to the Tribe’s success in its business and governmental operations.  Vice Chairperson Knight has been employed since 2001 at the Mechoopda Tribe in its Business Development operations.  Vice Chairperson Knight has also served numerous years as the Treasurer for the Northern Valley Tribal Health Board of Directors and as a Board Member of the Bureau of Indian Affairs Fee-to-Trust Consortium.

TERM 12/7/2019 - 12/5/2021

Secretary Roberta Lewis

Secretary Roberta Lewis has served on the Tribal Council since her election in 2012.  She was previously a member of the Chico Rancheria Housing Corporation of Directors for 4 years.  Roberta is a charming and friendly person and brings a local Tribal Member perspective to the Council.

TERM 12/5/2020 - 12/3/2022

Treasurer Charlee Ganzer

Elected Treasurer in 2019

TERM 12/7/2019 - 12/5/2021

Member Barbara Rose

Member-at-Large Barbara Rose was elected as Tribal Council member in 2020.  Mrs. Rose served on Tribal Council  as Treasurer from 1994 to 1995 and again from 2007 to 2016 and  as Vice-Chairperson from 1996 to 1999 and 2002 to 2006.  She also served as President of the Chico Rancheria Housing Board of Directors and served on the Finance, Personnel, and Election Committees.

TERM 12/5/2020 - 12/3/2022

Member Paulita Hopper

Elected Member-at-Large in 2019

TERM 12/7/2019 - 12/5/2021

Member Isaiah Meders

Elected Member-at-Large in 2020

TERM 12/5/2020 - 12/3/2022